Indiana State Sycamores men’s basketball

The Indiana State Sycamores basketball is Your NCAA Division I men’s basketball program of Indiana State University in Terre Haute, Indiana.

They now compete in the Missouri Valley Conference. The team played in 2011 at the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament.
The Sycamores’ first season was 1896, making them the basketball team from the NCAA alongside Minnesota, Bucknell and Washington the documents from 1896 to 1899 more exist. The Sycamores boast 2 College Players of the Year, 14 All-Americans, 39 scorers and 1,496 victories. They are placed by their victory count . [4][5]
Additionally, the Sycamores have 26 Post-Season Appearances (7 NCAA, 4 NIT, 1 CBI, 1 CIT, 12 NAIA and the 1936 Olympic Trials) with 5 National Championship Appearances (2 NCAA, 3 NAIA). Seven Sycamores were members of this 1951 Pan-American Games Gold Medal-winning team. The Sycamore’s most memorable season was the UPI National title, in addition to 1978 — 79, when star Larry Bird led an undefeated team to its first-ever NCAA Championship appearance. It finished the season; and lost the national title game versus the Magic Johnson-led Michigan State group. This is the deepest run with a first-time participant in the Division I championship, and one of just three occasions that a first-time group has advanced as far as the Final Four (UNCC at 1977 and Georgia in 1983). They wouldn’t have yet another postseason appearance until 2000.
The Sycamores were the National Runner-Up in the NCAA College Division (currently Div II) in 1968; they won the NAIA National Championship in 1950, had NAIA Finals appearances in 1946 & 1948 and NAIA National Semifinals looks in 1949 & 1953. All-Americans, Duane Klueh, Dick Atha and Lenny Rzeszewski directed the Sycamores. Since the program transitioned from NAIA to the NCAA, one last NAIA highlight was Ray Goddard leading the Nation in FT percentage (91.2percent )[6] through the 1961-62 season. Former Head Coaches comprise the legendary John Wooden, Purdue All-American Dave Schellhase, Indiana coaching legend Glenn M. Curtis and famous college coaches like Bob King, Royce Waltman, Tates Locke and Ron Greene. Former assistants Incorporate present collegiate head coaches like Thad Matta (Butler, Xavier, Ohio State), Rick Ray (Mississippi State, Southeast Missouri), Kareem Richardson (Missouri-Kansas City), Phil Hopkins (Western Carolina), Mel Garland (IUPUI), Stan Gouard (Indianapolis) and NBA Great Mel Daniels.
The Indiana State Sycamores men’s basketball team currently play their home games at Hulman Center (10,200) and are coached by Greg Lansing.

Read more: